Darren “Buffy” Robinson

Darren Robinson (June 10, 1967 – December 10, 1995), also known as Buffy, The Human Beat Box, and DJ Doctor Nice (among other aliases), was a member of the 1980s hip hop group the Fat Boys. He, along with Doug E. Fresh and others, were pioneers of beatboxing, a form of vocal percussion used in many rap groups throughout the 1980s and 1990s.

Buffy and the group were featured in the 1985 movie Krush Groove, appearing under the name Disco Three at the start before acquiring the name the Fat Boys near the end. They went on to win the talent contest after being ridiculed on previous occasions. The film, based on the early days of record label Def Jam, also featured Blair Underwood as Russell Simmons (named Russell Walker in the movie), and record producer Rick Rubin, along with Run DMC, Sheila E., Beastie Boys, Kurtis Blow, and a young LL Cool J.